If you are replacing your phone or tablet, or for some reason need to reinstall the app, you of course want to keep your Board Game Stats data. There are a couple of easy ways to transfer your data to a new device or install, listed below.
If you lost your device and can’t access it anymore, you can only load your data if you have a backup of your device, you had Cloud sync enabled, made an export from the app, or (with limits) posted your data to BoardGameGeek.
Always make sure hou have a backup of your device, have Cloud sync enabled, or make a regular export of your data from the app!
How to transfer data to a new phone?
If you don’t setup your new phone with a backup of your previous phone (like from iCloud or Google), you will have to transfer the data some other way.
You can transfer your data in three ways:
Cloud sync is the built-in sync of Board Game Stats. It’s an independent service hosted by the creators of Board Game Stats. You can try the service for free for two weeks, after which you need an in-app purchase of $0,99 per year.
When you have Cloud sync enabled, your data is automatically saved in the cloud. You can use it so sync between devices, and most importantly it provides a backup of your data when you lose your phone, or an easy way to transfer you data if you move to another one.
Cloud sync contains all your data except for Play images and custom Game images.
Export and import
Your can Export the Board Game Stats data to a file you can mail to yourself or save elsewhere. Later you can import the data in this file in a fresh copy of Board Game Stats. The export-import contains all your data except for images.
When you post your plays to BoardGameGeek, you can import them back in later. The BGG import is the least complete, because BGG doesn’t store your game setting, some custom play data, nor your challenges.
Please note that if you have set to anonymise the data you send to BGG, you’ll only be able to import the anonymised version as well.
To make sure you have all plays on BoardGameGeek, enable Auto-post in the Settings.